On Writing

I love to write.

Yet I had stopped for quite some time. 80% of the writing I’ve done has been in my head, thorough and well-resoned arguments against injustices or mistreatment, personal and larger scale. And aside from some letters to my representatives and far too many, probably not helpful Facebook posts most of that 80% has stayed right there in my head. The rest has been work email, work promotional materials (including two newspaper articles I’m proud of), and a touch of fanfic.

Experience has taught me that a lot of people don’t care what I have to say. But also, if I can be fair to myself for a moment, a lot of people have likewise appreciated it.

So why did I stop? Pressure, expectation, uncertainty what to say, not knowing how to phrase what’s in my soul. Exhaustion. All of those, and more, and maybe some of that was more in my head than in reality.

I’m feeling positive in this moment.

I’m also writing.

Maybe I’ll just leave it at that for now.

I’m writing again.

Leave a comment