Simple Self-Care Tips for Mental Health and Chronic Conditions

If you’re here reading this, you probably know that self-care is important. You probably know that mental health is also important, and one of the reasons why self-care is touted so broadly especially of late. But did you know that if you have a chronic condition your chances of developing depression or another mental health illness like anxiety increases?

In my experience of taking care of others with either understood or evasively mysterious health issues, talking with friends with mental and physical difficulties, and eventually adding a couple of diagnoses to my own life, I have found a few tricks with mental health and self-care. Including when everything is overwhelming.

Take it slow.

Sometimes caring for your mind and body just looks like slowing it down a little. This ties in with mindfulness. I will be honest, I have learned recently that mindfulness is not for everyone. It has helped me over the years, so I will share. If you decide to try something and think, “This is godawful and makes me feel worse,” then take a step back. This might not be for you. That’s okay, too.

But if you want to try it, think about this, then make it your own.

Sure you could probably race through your house the minute you get home or otherwise end your workday, errands, or a visit. I tend to rush through dumping everything close enough to where it belongs, tossing my clothes in the washing machine, and jumping in the shower as fast as possible. But sometimes it’s nice and helpful to slow that down. I take off my shoes and place them by the door with care. I stretch my toes and heels against the floor and notice the smooth wood floor under my feet and the soft yet coarse texture of the rug. By simply slowing that moment down, I can send signals to my brain and my body: I am home, I am safe, I can be calm now.

We also have a mud-scratching welcome mat that we kept inside for my cat. He loved scratching that, and we were happy he switched to it instead of the dining room rug. We still have that rug inside, and sometimes, when I’m barefoot I take a moment and just rub my bare feet on it in turn. It feels amazing and it reminds me of my funny old man who made me so happy. Sometimes self-care is recalling happy memories and refreshing sensations.

Rethink your care.

Another one I’ve learned that works wonders for myself is realizing that when my mouth feels fresh everything is a little better. Don’t get me wrong, horrible things will still feel horrible, but for some reason they’re a bit more bearable if my teeth are minty fresh and squeaky clean. So I have been known, at seemingly random times of day, to get up and brush my teeth even if I already did after I ate and that was two hours ago.

Sometimes the things we’re already doing for ourselves are the best, and free, self-care options available. We might just need to readjust how we perceive them to realize it.

Plan ahead, when possible.

Another way to word this would be to “Expect Problems.” Seriously. One of the reasons we have anxiety is because our brains are trying to cover all the possible things that could go wrong. This is not always bad.

I have been told more than once that I am very “compliant” and extraordinarily prepared as a person with diabetes. I feel like it’s a requirement, but I realize not everyone plans for disaster. But I do, and this relieves my mind from extra stress.

On an average day I carry 100 grams or more of fast carbs in my purse — in the event that I need to rapidly take care of dropping blood sugar…and let’s say I’m stranded on the highway 80 miles from the nearest city, driving by myself. Not a likely scenario, but I am prepared. Juuust in case. One hundred grams is a bit of a ridiculous amount of carbs to carry when the rule of thumb is 15 grams every 15 minutes until your numbers come back up. That’s over six times eating 15 grams of carbs. Not likely to be a real need, but having that beyond extra amount of safety backup is a load off my mind. Planning ahead eases one bit of mental and emotional strain from my physical needs. If something less horrible but more likely happens, I’m covered. I know, from planning ahead, that I can handle it.

But Wait, There’s More

I won’t get into “A Dozen Self-Care Tips” here this time. But just keep in mind that these are samples. You can easily find more tips that work specifically for you when you try different things and find what is refreshing to you specifically.

What do you think? Do you have more self-care tips that you like best? Share in the comments, and let’s all help each other.

2 thoughts on “Simple Self-Care Tips for Mental Health and Chronic Conditions

  1. James Maynard

    Hi Dorathea,

    Your post hits the nail on the head about taking stock of yourself and being prepared. I enjoy reading your posts.

    Love,
    Uncle Bud

    ________________________________

Leave a comment