Spinach-Apple Turkey Burgers

So a while back, I signed up for the menu/grocery list subscription service EMeals. I was struggling with meal planning and tired of the same, what, seven or ten things that I kept fixing all the time. I also had no time or desire to sift through (those enticing, delicious-looking, intimidating) cookbooks full of hundreds of ideas and recipes hoping to find something that didn’t take a lot of time or energy to prepare. EMeals was a good solution.

Each week I get a list of seven meals, I choose what I like, and it puts together a shopping list for me on the phone app, sorting the items I need by where they are kept in the grocery store. And, the service has meal plan options that take into consideration special dietary, time, and financial concerns. I signed up for the diabetic plan, which gives me the nutrition information for each main and side dish. I make adjustments as necessary and still do quite a bit of carb counting myself to be sure of what I’m eating, but it helps a lot (and I still get to eat potatoes!).

So let me introduce one of our favorite dishes from this new plan. As I make new posts with favorite meals, I’ll add them to the Food button on the main menu. If you try something I share, I’d love to hear how it goes! Sometimes my attempts and adjustments are…frustratingly amusing. So far, though, we’ve enjoyed them and not gone hungry.

 

20170731_222623

They smell as good as they look.

Spinach-Apple Turkey Burgers

What to do:
Heat some olive oil in a skillet and cook onion, apple, spinach, sage, and garlic salt for about seven minutes. You want the apple to be soft and the liquid to evaporate.

Then I put the cooked ingredients in a bowl and mixed it with the uncooked ground turkey. If you can manage this transition less awkwardly than I can, please do tell me! Forming that into patties was a bit of a literal hot mess, but it basically happened, and that gets cooked over some more hot olive oil about 5-6 minutes each side or until done.

Set up your burger bun with mustard (I used honey mustard, yum), lettuce, tomato, cucumber, and of course your homemade burger patty.

Add some baby carrots on the side and…

NOM!

This is one I want to repeat sometime, when I have a little more enthusiasm for the cooking process. Not really my choice for a worn out kind of evening. But I’m also snail slow at the prep portion of cooking (all that chopping!) and when I have to juggle things in, out, and in again to the same skillet.

 

If you want more precise measurements, see below. (I……was pretty vague with mine and actually I think overdid the apple and turkey proportions because I was tired, cranky, and in very unknown territory. Still, worked out pretty well.)

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil, 1 tablespoon at a time (I just splash whatever looks like enough into the skillet when needed)
  • 1/4 cup diced red onion (I think I misread this one as 1/4 of an onion and eyeballed it, but it worked out. A lot of -sniff- chopping for me, though, -sniffsniff-)
  • 3/4 cup finely chopped apple (I probably cut a whole, huge apple. Good enough!)
  • 1/2 of a 9oz package of baby spinach (I just eyeballed whatever looked good)
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried sage
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic salt
  • 1/2 pound ground turkey (I definitely used more which is part of why I had five patties–this recipe is supposed to feed two people one meal–and they were larger than would hold together well)
  • 2 teaspoons coarse-grain Dijon mustard (again, I just used honey mustard I had and portioned it as I wanted on my bun)
  • 2 whole-grain hamburger buns (whole-grain comes up a lot with DeTickles)
  • 2 lettuce leaves (I usually like more but it does become a bit of a stretch to chomp down on)
  • 2 thin slices of tomato (or as much as you want, mmmm)
  • 6 cucumber slices (easily slippery but yummy)

The recipe totals the burger carbs at 35g, but since I had extra apple and probably had more than one tablespoon of honey mustard, mine might have come out a bit more than that. The bun alone after all is still going to be around 23-28 grams of carbs depending on what exact one you get, so… If you need to count carbs, best to check your ingredients anyway. Still, for planning purposes, EMeals providing the basic information makes it easier to answer, “What can I eat today?” And these burgers were a two-thumbs up dish.

One thought on “Spinach-Apple Turkey Burgers

Leave a Reply

